Saturday, November 1, 2014

Boise State Women Take Second in Mountain West Cross Country Championships; Bronco Men Fourth

Emma Bates and Marisa Howard staged a dominating performance over the field in taking first and second, and the #23 Bronco women's cross country team once again finished second at the Mountain West Cross Country Championships in Fresno, California.
Howard and Bates raced out to the early lead and continued to extend it over the six-kilometer course.  Bates win individual honors with a time of 19:37.3, while Howard finished in 19:53.4, crossing the finish line 25 seconds ahead of the third-place runner. 

As dominating as Bates and Howard were, so too were the Lobos.  #10 New Mexico successfully defended their conference title with just 33 points to 58 for the Lady Broncos.  Wyoming finished third with 79 points, followed by Colorado State (103), Air Force with 141, Nevada in sixth with 163 points, Utah State (180), Fresno State (225), ninth-place UNLV with 245, San Diego State (276) and San Jose State with 295 points.

David Elliott won the men's title with a time of 23:38.7, marking just the first time in school history that Boise State swept individual cross country titles, with Melinda Campbell and Cormac Smith being the last Broncos to do it in 1997 when Boise State was in the Big West Conference.  #18 New Mexico won the Mountain West team title with 26 points, with Air Force (73 points) upsetting #25 Colorado State (76) for second.  The Bronco men were fourth with 79 points, followed by Utah State (152), Wyoming (160), host Fresno State with 181 and San Jose State with 197 points.

Howard, Bates, and Elliott all earned First Team All-Mountain West Conference honors for their performances, with Bates and Elliott winning Female and Male Athlete of the Year honors, respectively.  Freshmen Emma Hyyppa and Andrew Rafla captured rookie accolades, as Hyyppa finished 23rd and Rafla took 10th place.  Rafla also earned Second-Team All-Conference honors, the first freshman in school history to accomplish that feat.  Sarah Hastings, who finished 13th, and Michael Vennard, who came in 14th on the men's side, also earned Second Team honors.
Mountain West Men's Student-Athlete of the Year:  David Elliott, Sr.,  Boise State
Mountain West Men's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
Mountain West Men's Freshman of the Year:  Andrew Rafla,  Boise State
Mountain West Women's Student-Athlete of the Year:  Emma Bates, Boise State
Mountain West Women's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
Mountain West Women's Freshman of the Year:  Emma Hyyppa, Boise State
Women's First Team All-MW
Emma Bates, Boise State
Marisa Howard, Boise State
Holly Page, Wyoming
Alice Wright, New Mexico
Calli Thackery, New Mexico
Charlotte Arter, New Mexico
Hannah Everson, Air Force
Second Team All-MW
Nicole Roberts, New Mexico
Demerey Kirsch, Nevada
Amber Zimmerman, New Mexico
Kerry White, Wyoming
Tamara Armoush, New Mexico
Sarah Hastings, Boise State
Alexandra Will, Colorado State
Men's First Team All-MW
David Elliott, Boise State
Patrick Corona, Air Force
Jake Shelley, New Mexico
Alex Cornwell, New Mexico
Ross Matheson, New Mexico
Matt Bergin, New Mexico
Riley Coates, Air Force
Second Team All-MW
Daniel Studley, New Mexico
Amos Bowen, Wyoming
Andrew Rafla, Boise State
Jerrell Mock, Colorado State
Jefferson Abbey, Colorado State
Elmar Engholm, New Mexico
Michael Vennard, Boise State

No comments:

Post a Comment