Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Boise State #14 With 12 Straight Seasons of Eight or More Wins

Boise State now owns the 14th longest streak of winning eight or more football games in a season. The Broncos are 11th in the last 104 years with 12 straight years of eight or more victories.

Nebraska is the runaway record holder with 33 consecutive seasons of eight or more wins. The Cornhuskers accomplished their amazing run from 1969-2001. Michigan recorded eight or more wins from 1985-2004 for 20 straight seasons, while Princeton (1888-1906) and Florida State (1987-2005) are tied with 19 straight years.

Oklahoma tied a school record with its 11th straight year of eight or more victories this season and Ohio State broke a school record this year with its 8th consecutive season of eight or more wins—congratulations to the Sooners and Buckeyes!

Georgia and Texas ended great streaks of 13 and 12 consecutive seasons, respectively this season. Texas finished the season 5-7 while Georgia is 6-6 but even with a bowl win cannot extend its streak. Seven schools saw their streaks end at four seasons this year by not winning at least eight games: BYU, Central Michigan, Cincinnati, Houston, Oregon State and Rutgers. Florida, Penn State and Texas Tech must all win bowl games to keep their streaks alive.

Boise State can move into the all-time top 10 with four more seasons of eight or more wins.

Here are the all-time leaders in consecutive eight-win seasons:
1. Nebraska…33 (1969-2001)
2. Michigan…20 (1985-2004)
3. Princeton…19 (1888-1906)
3. Florida State…19 (1987-2005)
5. BYU…17 (1976-1992)
6. Pennsylvania…16 (1890-1905)
6. Michigan…16 (1968-1983)
6. Tennessee…16 (1989-2004)
9. Miami of Florida…14 (1983-1996)
10. Yale…13 (1886-1898)
10. Alabama…13 (1971-1983)
10. Georgia…13 (1997-2009)
10. Virginia Tech…13 (1998-2010)
14. Boise State…12 (1999-2010)
14. Carlisle…12 (1902-1913)
14. Florida…12 (1990-2001)
14. Texas 1998-2009 (12)
18. LSU….11 (2000-2010)
18. Oklahoma…11 (1948-1958)
18. Oklahoma…11 (2000-2010)
18. USC…11 (1972-1982)
18. Penn State…11 (1989-1999)
23. USC…10 (1924-1933)
23. Notre Dame…10 (1969-1978)
23. Oklahoma…10 (1971-1980)

Randall Building a Powerhouse at Boise State

Coach Greg Randall inherited one of the top wrestling squads in the country. He is beginning to turn it into a powerhouse.

Randall has this year’s squad ranked anywhere from #3 to #9 depending on who you talk to.

Wrestling Report has Boise State #3 with 78 points, behind #1 Cornell (103) and Penn State (89). Andrew Hochstrasser is the #2-rated wrestler at 133 pounds, Kirk Smith is also #2 at 184 pounds, junior Jason Chamberlain is #3 at 149 pounds, Adam Hall is #3 in the 157-pound classification, freshman Jake Swartz has worked his way up to #11 at 174 pounds, Levi Jones is #17 at 141 pounds while Alan Bartelli is rated #22 at 125 pounds and Matt Casperson is #24 at 197 pounds. Boise State has no wrestlers in the top 33 at 165 pounds or in the 285-pound group.

Intermat also ranks Boise State #3 with 76 points, behind only Cornell and Penn State, who each have 87.5 points. Intermat has Smith #1 and Bartelli ranked 16th, with the other rankings fairly in line with Wrestling Report.

The rankings posted on the official NCAA site have Boise State #9, trailing #1 Cornell, Penn State, Virginia Tech, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Oklahoma State, Missouri and Iowa.

Most wrestling rankings attempt to predict the results of the NCAA National Wrestling Championships; the NCAA site reflects votes of the nation’s wrestling coaches.

Coach Randall has led Boise State to seven Top 3 finishes at the Pac-10 Conference Championships in the last eight years. The Broncos won two straight Pac-10 titles in 2008 and 2009 and fell to Oregon State by two points last season. In 2009, Boise State was 17-3 in dual matches and shattered the all-time Pac-10 Championship scoring record with 172.5 points. Six Broncos captured individual conference titles that year: Andrew Hochstrasser at 133 pounds, Jason Chamberlain in the 149-pound classification, Tyler Sherfey at 165, Nate Lee at 174 pounds, Kirk Smith at 184 pounds and Brent Chriswell at 197 pounds. Nine wrestlers qualified for the Nationals, to tie the school record set in 2003 and matched in 2008. Three of those—Hochstrasser, Sherfey and Chriswell earned All-America honors with top-eight finishes. Boise State finished 12th in the nation in 2009, 11th last year, and Randall also led the Broncos to a 12th-place finish in 2003.

All those accomplishments aside, Randall and Boise State are attempting to finally crack the Top 10 in the nation, something Randall’s predecessor, Mike Young, did at Boise State. With new prized recruits arriving on campus each year, Randall is well on the way to building the Broncos into a national power.

Boise State Will Play Eight Bowl Teams in 2011

The football schedule just keeps getting better for Boise State. With the addition of #2 TCU next season, the Broncos will play eight bowl teams: Georgia, Tulsa, Toledo, Fresno State, #13 Nevada, #2 TCU, San Diego State and Air Force.

Nevada has hinted that it is trying to get out of the game with Boise State but no official announcement has been made at this time.

The eight teams mentioned above were a combined 76-29 last season.