Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Boise State Feeding Frenzy in the NFL

Now that the National Football League appears they are going to have a season, teams are scrambling to get players and Boise State is one of the top beneficiaries.

Safety Jeron Johnson is going to Seattle, Winston Venable has signed with the Chicago Bears, Tommy Gallarda will join former Bronco coach Dirk Koetter in Jacksonville, standout defensive end Ryan Winterswyck is headed to Atlanta and in a pretty telling transaction, backup quarterback Mike Coughlin has signed a free agent deal with Tampa Bay.

Congrats to these fine young men and best of luck!

Seven Broncos on MWC Preseason Football Team

Kellen Moore, chosen as the Preseason Mountain West Conference Offensive Player of the Year, led seven Broncos on the All-MWC football team.

2011 Preseason All-Mountain West Football Team
QBKellen MooreSr.Boise State
WRPhillip PayneSr.UNLV
WRJosh BoyceSo.TCU
RBRonnie Hillman*So.San Diego State
RBDoug MartinSr.Boise State
OLNate PotterSr.Boise State
OLA.J. Wallerstein**Sr.Air Force
OLKyle DooleySr.TCU
OLThomas ByrdSr.Boise State
OLPaul Madsen**Sr.Colorado State
TELucas Reed*Jr.New Mexico
DLBilly WinnSr.Boise State
DLShea McClellinSr.Boise State
DLStansly Maponga**So.TCU
DLJosh Biezuns**Sr.Wyoming
LBTank Carder#*Sr.TCU
LBMychal Sisson**Sr.Colorado State
LBMiles Burris*Sr.San Diego State
DBGeorge IlokaSr.Boise State
DBLeon McFadden*Jr.San Diego State
DBAnthony WrightSr.Air Force
DBJon DavisSr.Air Force
PBrian Stahovich*Sr.San Diego State
PKJames AhoSr.New Mexico
Ret.Jonathan WarzekaSr.Air Force
Offensive Player of the Year:
Kellen Moore, Sr., QB, Boise State
Defensive Player of the Year:
Tank Carder, Sr., LB, TCU
Special Teams Player of the Year:
Jonathan Warzeka, Sr., KR, Air Force
# - unanimous 2011 preseason selection.
* - member of the 2010 All-Mountain West first-team.
** - member of the 2010 All-Mountain West second-team.

Boise State Picked to Win Mountain West Conference

You could either call it respect or buttering up the Broncos for a surprise but in the annual Mountain West Conference meetings, Boise State was selected to win the conference in a vote of 31 members of the media associated with the MWC.  Boise State was the choice of 28 of those polled, while departing member TCU was selected by three people.

2011 Mountain West Football Preseason Poll
Rk.Team (first-place votes)Points
1.Boise State (28)236
2.TCU (3)208
3.Air Force176
4.San Diego State160
5.Colorado State104
8.New Mexico39