Tuesday, May 22, 2012

2012 Bronco Coach of the Year

It's time to consider the nominees for 2012 Bronco Coach of the Year.  Review the resumes below and cast your vote at the top left of the web site! 

Tina Bird & Neil Resnick, Gymnastics

The Bronco gymnasts did not participate in a conference, but they were invited to the NCAA Regional in Fayetteville, Arkansas, where they finished third.  Boise State finished the season ranked #14 in the nation.  Senior Amy Glass won the prestigious AAI Award, the gymnastics equivalent of the Heisman in football, and represented the Broncos in the all-around competition at the NCAA Championships.  

During the year, the Broncos defeated #16 Washington and lost a narrow decision to #8 Oregon State.

Kristin Hill, Swimming and Diving

The Boise State swimming and diving team captured its third consecutive conference title and became the first sport in school history to win a Mountain West title.  Down by one point entering the final event, the Bronco relay team set a new conference record in winning the event and securing the team championship for Boise State.  The Broncos finished with 747 points to 742 for San Diego State in the closest meet in league history.  Boise State advanced a record number of swimmers to the NCAA Championships, where they finished 47th.

Jessica Bottelberghe (100 and 200-yard backstroke), Amber Boucher (50 and 100-yard freestyle and 100-yard butterfly), Amanda Burnett (one-meter and platform diving), Jennifer Cahill (500 and 1,650-yard freestyle), Ciera Cortney (one-meter and platform diving), Heather Harper (100 and 200-yard breaststroke), Rachel Heaney (200-yard butterfly and 400-yard individual medley), Stevie Hughey (50-yard freestyle and 100-yard butterfly), Emily Irvin (100-yard breaststroke), Sydney Johansen (100-yard breaststroke, 200-yard backstroke and 200-yard individual medley), Tana Loan (three-meter and platform diving), Chelsea Miller (200-yard breaststroke and 400-yard individual medley), Stephanie North (50, 100, and 200-yard freestyle) and Christine Raininger (200 and 400-yard individual medley) were named to the All-Mountain West Team.

Additionally, the Boise State 200, 400 and 800-yard freestyle and 400-yard medley relay teams were named All-Mountain West.

Greg Patton, Men's Tennis

The Bronco men's tennis team finished the season 26-7, having gone undefeated in the Mountain West regular season and then capturing the postseason tournament.  Boise State traveled to the NCAA Regional in Athens, Georgia, where they lost 4-3 in the first round to Florida State.  The Broncos finished the season ranked #37 in the country.  During the year, Boise State outpointed Washington and Fresno State and took on Auburn, Mississippi State and Tennessee.

Damian Hume, James Meredith and Andy Bettles were selected to the All-Mountain West team in singles while Meredith & Nathan Sereke and Hume & Scott Sears were chosen to the All-MWC doubles team.

Chris Petersen, Football

The Bronco football team finished 7th in the BCS Standings, 6th in the Coaches' Poll and 8th in the AP Poll after finishing the season 12-1.  Boise State was 8-1 in the Mountain West Conference, finishing second, with their only loss to #13 TCU.  The Broncos opened the season winning at #20 Georgia.

Offensive tackle Chris Potter became just the second consensus All-American in school history.  Quarterback Kellen Moore was selected as the MWC Offensive Player of the Year  while Potter, running back Doug Martin, wide receiver Tyler Shoemaker, defensive ends Tyrone Crawford and Shea McClellin and safety George Iloka joined Moore on the All-Mountain West team.

Leon Rice, Men's Basketball
Rice guided his team to a 13-17 record including three conference wins in their first season in the tough Mountain West Conference.  Boise State took on #1 seed San Diego State in the opening round of the MWC Tournament, losing on a three-point shot at the buzzer, 65-62.

Erin Thorpe, Softball

In only their fourth season, the Boise State softball team finished the year 34-20 overall and two games behind San Diego State in the Mountain West Conference.  Boise State's schedule included Florida, UCLA, Washington, Notre Dame, Arizona State, two games with Minnesota, three games against Oregon and three games with #9 Texas A&M.  Centerfielder Tara Glover was named Co-Mountain West Player of the Year and Western Region Second Team.  Glover was joined by pitcher Aubray Zell, right fielder Devon Bridges and second baseman Kellie Caplan on the All-Mountain West team.

Congratulations to the Boise State Swimming & Diving Team--the 2012 Bronco Team of the Year!

In voting just completed, the Boise State swimming & diving team was selected as the 2012 Bronco Team of the Year!

The three-time conference winners edged San Diego State to win Boise State's first-ever Mountain West Conference title and the Bronco swimmers and divers were rewarded by Bronco fans as being the Bronco Team of the Year.

Now, we turn to the excellent coaches at the school and will ask for your input there!