Monday, May 28, 2012

Boise State 6th in College Football History for Consecutive 10-Win Seasons

The players returning for the Boise State football team are the keepers of tradition, defenders of the Broncos' proud tradition of excellence.  They are entrusted with continuing one of the most remarkable records in the history of college football.

Boise State ranks sixth in the history of the sport for the most consecutive 10-win seasons.  The Broncos have won 10 or more every year since 2006.  Six straight seasons, and probably not coincidentally, as long as Chris Petersen has been coaching the team.

Florida State holds the all-time record of 14 (1987-2000) that may never be broken.  Texas is second with nine (2001-2009) but that very well could be tied by Virginia Tech this season.  The Hokies are going for their ninth in a row, having won 10 or more every year since 2004.  USC won 10 or more from 2002-2008, Miami of Florida put together eight in a row and then it's the Broncos.  Boise State has more consecutive 10-win seasons than every other school in the nation, including Alabama, Michigan, Nebraska, and Oklahoma.  But the Sooners have accomplished something no other school has done--win 10 games in five consecutive seasons three different times.  

Interestingly enough, the 12 schools that are at the top of this list pretty represent most of the powerhouses in the history of college football.  Two teams notably absent from this group of consistent 10-game winners are Notre Dame and Penn State.  The best the Nittany Lions did was four seasons (1971-1974), while Notre Dame strung three 10-win seasons from 1991-1993.  This list pretty much sums up how great these 12 schools are.

1.  Florida State 14 (1987-2000)
2.  Texas 9 (2001-2009)
3.  Miami of Florida 8 (1985-1992)
3.  Virginia Tech 8 (2004-2011)
5.  USC 7 (2002-2008)
6.  Boise State 6 (2006-2011)
6.  Florida 6 (1993-1998)
8.  Alabama 5 (1971-1975)
8.  Michigan 5 (1901-1905)
8.  Nebraska 5 (1993-1997)
8.  Ohio State 5 (2006-2010)
8.  Oklahoma 5 (1954-1958)
8.  Oklahoma 5 (1971-1975)
8.  Oklahoma 5 (2000-2004)

Who Has More Consecutive 10-Win Seasons in History: Alabama or Boise State

The Crimson Tide are the consumate "Blue Blood" of college football, with numerous mythical national championships.  Alabama's longest streak of consecutive 10-win seasons came from 1971-1975, five seasons in a row.  What an awesome streak.

Boise State has never gotten that chance to win the mythical national championship in Division I.  Sure, they won it on the field in I-AA and in junior college, but the "Blue Bloods" have done their best to make sure the Broncos never get a chance to win it on the field.  Boise State's longest streak of consecutive 10-win seasons is actually still current.  The Broncos have won 10 games every year from 2006-2011, six seasons in a row.  Even more impressive.

New Items Added To E-Store

I have recently added some items to my E-Store page.  I'm amazed by the exponential growth in Boise State products over the last ten years.  There's a plethora of Bronco items out there--I try to add only the best ones.  There are now eight pages of Bronco apparel, hardware, souvenirs, DVD's and collectibles.  Be sure to check out the page to see if there's a hot new Bronco item you may want to get!